Vampira

you cinch yourself with sheets of tire
and paper boys squirm in their chairs
room full of smoke without a fire
just eyes that snarl “beware, beware”

insect doing all the swatting
you scream into your ecstasy
blood is curdling milk is clotting
the world: a freakshow at your feet

I ask, “how do you stand so tall?”
you take a card, toss me a wink
you give birth to a porcelain doll
tell me to smash it in the sink

I grin and you pluck out my teeth
to string around your long pale neck
scared of no sound that lies beneath
you stare me down, shuffle your deck

this is no answer, but I see
your world’s a circus full of fleas

Leave a Reply

