Anyways

“Dear forgiveness, I saved a plate for you.” – Richard Siken

I  wore polka dots
and swiveled all over the kitchen
I am so lonely
but I can brush my hair
I can do that much for you

I made this house so pretty
even though we both know
that’s not how this works
I iced the cake without kicking up crumbs

I want you to stick a hand
into that buttery sludge
roses made with a piping bag
fingernail right through them
wine cork my tear-coughing throat
I want you to say
happy anniversary, darling 

I want to be forgiven
all at once
a line of
“anyways, all in all,
real glad I met you”

Leave a Reply

