Beats and Hysterics

A poem of other poems

In the machinery of night
I stare out of broken cupboards

There is too much food and no one left over

The girls eat morning
where I am

I lie on my back at midnight
listening to the terror through the wall

I am rusting knife in the water

A woman who writes feels too much

Read the stories,
I said I loved more than you

Be amazed, annoyed

 

Key:
(Beats v. hysterics)

Lines 1 and 7: Allen Ginsberg, “Howl”
Lines 2 and 8: Diane Di Prima “I am a Shadow” from Loba
Lines 3 and 9: Anne Sexton, “The Black Art”
Lines 4 and 10: William Burroughs, “Formed in the Stance” from Minutes to Go
Lines 5 and 11: Sandra Cisneros, “Black Lace Bra Kind of Woman”
Lines 6 and 12: Jack Kerouac, “Daydreams for Ginsberg”

Leave a Reply

