Los Angeles Gothic

I drove to your house
without a map
power of suggestion
turn right on Sunset Blvd.

The pinethick maze:
everything bloody
about a pearl necklace
oyster’s skin
raw and salt-stung

My body screamed and I kept driving
death by lamplight
last breath rehearsed in empty motel room
bathroom mirror winking on and off
retro wretched
L.A. gothic

This city has
a penchant for killers
with light eyes
crooked teeth
and a penchant for girls
in splattered nightdresses
for leaving the knife
in their quaking hands

I didn’t bury it, hon

I drove to your house
cackling
doo-wop music
inkblotting pinethick maze
weird only for me
weird because it turns me on
meaning I turn myself on
meaning you’re not invited

I drove to your house
without a map
nightdress girl knows more
than you ever realized

I didn’t bury it, hon
not quite yet

One thought on “Los Angeles Gothic

Leave a Reply

