Card Game

I want the first scene
card missing from deck
I want to pull this loop tight

A painting:
standing in the bathroom
peeling black nail-polish
meat from bone
her tongue is growing in yr mouth
he could see everything
all the parts that I couldn’t
perched on every shoulder

His crooked frame
isn’t the only shadow skirting this bedroom
her tongue is growing in yr mouth
there is a girl walking the perimeter
prying her own fingernails off
mumbling under his breath
in the mirror, she reaches for my face
we’re still not sure
who it belonged to first

I want the first scene

Post-it note:
I remember concrete on bare legs
shuffling the cards with bloody fingernails
I remember smoke
but there couldn’t have been smoke
there is a photo of us
nobody got around to taking

her tongue is growing in yr mouth
her tongue is growing in yr mouth
her tongue is growing in yr mouth

But we’re not sure how to use it
not sure who it belonged to first

Is this your card?

Leave a Reply

