Birthday Cake

August closed its lips
and you walked in
suddenly: jar of tea
slipping from my hand
brand new freckle
pushed into my neck
suddenly: I could fall
asleep in the back seat
feel clean just by licking
each of my fingers

I need you, darlin’
like the fish needs the sea
don’t take this sweet, sweet
love from me 

I swore I’d never need
to look
at another menu in my life
“I’ll have the regular, honeybee”

//So you liked me happy
I wanted that too
but not when your happy
was from only you//

That’s the danger:
an innocent flame
tucked into a birthday cake
one nudge away
from setting the house on fire

One thought on “Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

