Want

They once
blamed me

for praying
this word:

I want.
– Sappho


They once blamed me
for praying loud and stained
teeth to the sky
pointing to the cameras
but only looking at the negatives
(rolled up like stretched taffy
yards of red silk)
I bit the sun
clean in half
ran soap under
scalding faucet
little blue globes
escaping these grimy hands
there is work beneath the surface
which is why the wanting
is salivating
is flexing all five senses
all five limbs

Do you hear that?
the hum when my voice stops?
audience swallowing
queasy with recognition

Leave a Reply

