Song on Wall of Women’s Ward

In the room next to me
the boys swap handfuls and mouthfuls
leaning against the walls
until they turn soft in the night
In the room next to me
they lunge over typewriters
we are all shock-collar trapped
but it’s hard as pearls or wedding bells
to unclasp this on my own

In the room next to me
I hear bedsprings
bedclothes
completion scattered across them
and everything I love is invisible
rumors of bruises
peeling train schedules
claiming release already came

I want my wall knocked down
voice knocked out
do you hear me, Anne?
Virginia?
I’ll show you
if you show me

Leave a Reply

