Pearls, Feathers, Straightjacket

write me down
repeat me back to me
see where the corners line up
it started out as
hold up one of my shoulders
I’ll walk down the street
a little less crooked

I didn’t need need to see evidence
of the sun
as long as he dictated day and night to me
timepiece timekeeper
pocket watch and the pocket it is pulled from
but then morning never came

There are questions that break
skin without asking first
“I know you like that, right?”
questions with three sharp teeth
tied to the tracks
of his train of thought
while he’s reminding me
“you’re the one who lied down there
in the first place”

Dressing me:
– pearls
– feathers
– straightjacket

Leave a Reply

