2015: A Year in Songs & Haikus

  1. January: “Beast of Burden” by the Rolling stones
    I’ll never be your beast of burden, so let’s go home and draw the curtains
    Music on the radio, come on baby, make sweet love to me
    Lucky penny wink
    Up to our wrists in honey
    Writing down the sky
  2. February: “America” covered by First Aid Kit
    So I looked at the scenery, she read her magazine
    And the moon rose over an open field
    Rain down on me, love
    Window blur without a word
    Watch it pass us by
  3. March: “You Get What You Give” by The New Radicals
    You’re in harm’s way, I’m right behind
    Now say you’re mine
    Cars floating backwards
    Teeth sunk in a birthday cake
    I break every clock 
  4. April: “Iris” by The Goo Goo Dolls
    You’re the closest to heaven that I’ll ever be
    And I don’t want to go home right now
    We’re in a tin can
    But we’re screaming through the holes
    Tonight, we are warm 
  5. May: “Your Ex-lover is Dead” by Stars
    It’s nothing but time and a face that you lose
    I chose to feel it and you couldn’t chose
    Disowned puppet ghost
    I draw your shadow again
    And the marker bleeds 
  6. June: “All Along the Watchtower” covered by Jimi Hendrix
    But you and I we’ve been through that, and this is not our fate
    So let us not talk falsely now, the hour’s getting late
    Rooms swirl together
    I play house, but I’m dizzy
    Truth is a toothache 
  7. July: “Both Hands” by Ani DiFranco
    And now I’m writing our history upon the bedroom wall
    And when we leave, the landlord will come and paint over it all
    Holding and breaking
    I try to rip this part out
    But paper beats rock
     
  8. August: “Where Does the Good Go?” By Tegan and Sara 
    It’s love that leaves and breaks the seal
    Of always thinking you would be real
    Goodbye is a drink
    Best warm and stirred with honey
    A room is emptied 
  9. September: “Noccalula” by Waxahatchee
    But it’s really better until I know how to let someone gracefully in
    And back out, but I won’t worry about it right now
    A new room is filled
    Loneliness poured over ice
    Smile and toss it back
     
  10. October: “60 Feet Tall” by The Dead Weather
    You got my attention, you got it all
    I can take the trouble, I’m sixty feet tall
    I am scrap metal
    Making maps in broad daylight
    Home is no fixed point
     
  11. November: “Kimberly” by Patti Smith
    And I feel just like some misplaced Joan of Arc
    And the cause is you, looking up at me
    Lightning licks the roof
    I am highest lowest point
    Junkyard in full bloom
     
  12. December: “Shadowboxer” by Fiona Apple
    You made me a shadowboxer baby, I wanna be ready for what you do
    I’ve been swinging all around me, ’cause I don’t know when you’re gonna make your move
    You are back? Me too.
    Just one seat at this table
    Love, love, and legroom

One thought on “2015: A Year in Songs & Haikus

  1. Pingback: Belgian Bible Students review of 2015 | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

Leave a Reply

