Destroyer

Girl, I want you // but I’m
I want you // really not
you, here with me // as cool as I’d like to be

Sipping ink from two glass bottles
both are sweating in my fists
jacket patches look like yours
can’t find a way not to stick

you’re up // you’ve got a good thing
you’re down // going then you blow
I can’t work you out // yourself out

Can’t pull myself from first breath
cocktail of sweat and grenadine lips
time machine basement, ritual dust
your fingernails still mark my hips

Leave a Reply

