Pincushion

Light as a feather
stiff as a board
I sat quietly
while you cracked
egg after egg
over my head
I sat quietly
while you watched, smirking,
the way they slid down my face

You crushed
each of my fingernails
in the hinge of your front door
splinters and splinters
printed every picture
I sent you
splinters and splinters
I bit halfway through my lip

But now it’s my turn to smirk
at the way you’re still chained to that door
staring at the still arms
of a body I left years ago
don’t worry, dear
you know I’m a nail biter
and every bit of your blood
was chewed from my fingers
long before I sat down to write you this

Today I spat your name
in the shower
watched it break apart
in a cloud of pink

You are the pincushion
buried in the back  yard
you are the one I won’t burn
so that you can sit
and hear every lick
of your slow decay

Light as a feather
stiff as a board
I would ask you to say
hello to the worms for me
but they won’t want
to hear your voice either

Leave a Reply

