Dark Honey

For Andrea Gibson

Your name
rusted in the mouth
of a wildflower woman
and you were my savior

Priestess
midnight mass
lock the bedroom door
light the candle
mason jar bloom
only glow in the room

You spoke dark honey
red lips on red lips
I checked twice to make sure
that nobody was watching me
mouth open
chest stretched halfway to the ceiling
toes curled
hovering four feet above stained carpet

Your voice sliding over my shoulders
I pulled the notebook from under my bed
traced the length of her back
with the tip of my pen
you spoke of taffeta on taffeta
tears on everything

I’m still not sure what to call it
darkness prayer
pleasure absolved of its guilt
one woman slow dance
where stepping on toes
was the only requirement

Leave a Reply

