Uncrossed

I made another list
that uncrossed itself all night

my feet packed another suitcase
forgot another tube of toothpaste
(but that’s the least of their worries)
excused themselves from the dinner table
walked down the street without a jacket

I made another cup of tea
that froze before the first sip

I tried to make eye contact
as my feet marched on
and they refused to see me

If they’re gone the whole night
there’s no way or reason
to get up from the table
the tea is turning my fingers blue
(but that’s the least of my worries)
a kettle is screaming in the background
I’m uncrossing all my fingers

Leave a Reply

