Rubber

I took off my shoe
saw the mess of wires
circling my heel
heard it bending
with every step
turned my music up a little louder

I don’t have time to remember
whether red goes to blue
or blue goes to yellow
and it takes a string around my finger
to push through the tangles
and get to the salt

Once I’m in the wind snap
the ink stroke
the honey smell
the laundry warm
the fire crackle
and rain cackle
there is reason to go barefoot

I should take off the other shoe
feel the the shock with each step
feel each blowdryer fall into the bathtub
balloons lifting each hair off the back of my neck
rubber can block impact
but like us,
it’ll wear down eventually

Leave a Reply

