Coin Slot

Gratitude cracks open anything that locks
but if I came to your door
slipped a rootbeer cap through the coin slot
and told you
that I was grateful for the way you stung
and gave me a reason to boil our story down
time and time again
trying to get something to stick to the pan
would you let me in?
you moved, right?
you cut your hair, right?
you spoke kindly of me to people you knew well
and tore my wax paper center
in front of people you just met, right?

I’ve been drawing you
on legal pads and shower windows
and I think I’m done

I’m terrified of the way
I never saw the shadows
and now I draw them
in big sweeping motions
a stream of grey
running up my hand

Leave a Reply

