Everything that stains

She aches in my mouth
ginger beer sting
tingling on the tongue
sweet on the lips

I am desperate
to wipe my mouth
on the back of my hand
to kiss anonymously
slink out of rooms
skip the line dance lines of vision
lines and lines and lines rewritten

she aches in my mouth
ginger beer sting
the kind I drank from a cloudy bottle
watching the waves thrash desperately
for a place to land
admitting
with a sweet tingle
with a hard swallow
that I was going to leave
and knock over glasses
of everything that stains

One thought on “Everything that stains

Leave a Reply

