Brick

Tonight
I am crawling on all fours
for dust in my eyes
for ghost town quiet
for a string of saltwater
turning to pearls
moving through my blood
quick enough to sting

Tonight
I am looking in the mirror
telling myself: sink into the sting
sink until it sings back
louder than my throat’s burn
louder than a brick building
with every light on
every light spilling out of every crack
breaking glass along the way

Tonight
I am crawling on all fours
feeling the brick beneath my knees
wishing for something to hold me down
to keep me cold
to keep me still

Leave a Reply

