Fare Thee Well

I’m walkin’ down that long, lonesome road, babe
Where I’m bound, I can’t tell
But goodbye’s too good a word, gal
So I’ll just say fare thee well


None of this was fair

the way I held you underwater
just to get a better look at your face
so this is where I let go
let the circulation move back through my fingers
back through your lungs

None of this was fair,
lifeless muse,
so this is where I let go

I made you my cornhusk voodoo doll
and cut apart all my favorite dresses
to dress you in strips of them

I buried you in the backyard
of a house I moved out of
and dug you up each night
to slow dance in the moonlight
careful not to step on your limp toes

I made you the blowdryer in the bathtub
the phantom limb
the pickpocket fingers
the hand in a permanent fist
crushing anything simple
’till it bled rot and sweetness

I called you my muse
but didn’t give you  the chance to breathe

I’m just now noticing
how blue your skin is
in each portrait
I tied you to a chair
to model for

None of this was fair,
lifeless muse,
so this is where I let go


I ain’t sayin’ you treated me unkind
You could have done better but I don’t mind
You just kinda wasted my precious time
But don’t think twice, it’s all right

Leave a Reply

