Roly-poly witching hour

Poison oak, some boyhood bravery
When a telephone was a tin can on a string
And I fell asleep with you still talking to me
You said you weren’t afraid to die


In this moment
this roly-poly witching hour
streetlights line anything that seems like a path
leading to anywhere that seems like love
and there has been magic here

But me I’m a single cell
On a serpent’s tongue
There’s a muddy field where a garden was

The leaves rustle
like a woman’s shoulders
when she is home alone
dancing for nobody but the music
and maybe her reflection
when she slips past the bathroom sink
and there has been magic here

And I never thought this life was possible
You’re the yellow bird that I’ve been waiting for

For the first time
I can lean over the edge
and see what it will be like to write about home
when it is a memory
a model train station
that I am no longer waiting at
praying that one of the lego trains
will pull up to the platform
I can lean over the edge
and see that there has been magic here

Leave a Reply

