Fly Swatter

There was this cool, cool girl
She was about your age
She kind of had your smile
She kind of had your face

Under my bed
there is a rectangular space
retrofuture black hole
run down down town ghost town
painted in shades of dust and turquoise

Would you care to join me for a walk?
I’ll hold one of your hands
and keep the other behind my back
crossing all six fingers
hoping you’ll stub your toe
hoping you’ll stub all six of them

Leave them with the ticket stubs
leave them with the bandaids
blood, aged and oxidized
curling for sleep in the dark

Sister, sister
Well, don’t ya know how much I miss ya?
Oh my god, my, my sister
You were just like
A blister

I think I should have kissed you
in the middle of those sweaty body trees
where punk music hung
from everyone’s arms
like shattered christmas lights

But the least you could do is kiss me now
your mouth is confetti
mine is blood
never mind the confetti
we’ll both be scarlet by the end of this

let’s wade through the paraffin
until it hardens at our knees
yours are scraped but I still like them
neither of ours can bend
but what were we expecting?

She wanted to be my lover
But my heart was with another and
Yeah I really wish that we could be friends
But I know I’m never gonna get you back again
I just wish that you would answer the phone
‘Cause, I could really do with talking to you right now

Under my bed
there is a rectangular space
retrofuture black hole
run down down town ghost town
painted in shades of dust and turquoise

I think I’ll just put a table cloth over it
and host a tea party for myself
I’ll wear black lace
and let my bloody mouth decorate the china

Don’t bother reaching up from below
to rattle the saucers
I brought a fly swatter

Leave a Reply

