Sticky and Headless

Tonight
I am a ghost behind the steering wheel
faces in the lane next to me
see only my hands

I am a ghost behind the steering wheel
following telephone lines
trying to remember
the places where they cross

Following telephone lines
stopping at every gas station
tonight
you are every flash of shoulder in the window

Stopping at every gas station
only to find
that you are a sewing needle hole
in the bottom of every styrofoam cup

Only to find
orange soda pooling in my lap
sticky and headless
sticky and heartless

Orange soda pooling in my lap
I can’t seem to hold anything these days
so I’ll just buy your favorite peanut butter cups
and restart the CD

Leave a Reply

