Stone Mermaid

If you were to drop a penny
into the emptiness I crave
you would hear it chime
below my stomach
below my feet
into the stomach of the earth
and at least 100,000 feet below that

A place where rocks go
when they’re too nervous to skip
so they stone mermaid their way down
to the stomach of the earth
and bounce across the ocean floor
where nobody can see them
or believe them

If you were to drop a penny
into the emptiness I crave
it would appear in your jewelry box
one year later
sporting a portrait of the girl who I kissed
under a blanket of dust and cobalt
and the date
when there were no more words
and I washed out the blanket
with scratchy soap and blistered hands

Leave a Reply

