Las Vegas

At 10 a.m.
this diner is filled with scrambled people
just looking to fit in with the eggs

Fingers slick back vermin hair
and leather shoulders lunge into
bacon
repentance
Jesus
and Elvis

a goddess with a spray tan
and a pink sweater
slides me the best hash browns
that I have ever eaten
and I know why my mom always felt stuck here

I watch her biology major hands
take up a fork like a scalpel
and puncture the center of her egg
yellow running in every direction
leaving home
the moment it turns 18

I ask her to pass the ketchup
I mean
“thank you”

One thought on “Las Vegas

Leave a Reply

