Extra Mile

Sunset drips
in lemonade and cherry slushy waves
over the gas station roofA man in thick-rimmed glasses
stands before it all
like an oil-paint landscape
trying to convince the wall
that it’s a portrait

this ice-tray oasis
is equipped with
12 flavors of potato chips
5 names carved into the bathroom stall
a bloodstain on the concrete
and snickers bar shipping boxes
packed full of overhead projector slides
where my shadow was traced
at 12 different flavors of afternoon

sunset drips
marker smudges

here is where
I tried on addiction
made bracelets with repeating beads
1. diet coke
2. collect yourself while driving
3. keep him distracted with your body
4. he’ll never feel the lies between your teeth

sunset drips
marker smudges

here is where I bought
16 oz. of coffee
and tried not to cry
about the fact that it spilled on my dress
and that I never planned
on feeling this alone

sunset drips
marker smudges

here is where I parked
one summer afternoon
and let the heat take its toll
on my poems
rippling their spines
while I spit them into the air
like sunflower seeds
kept next to the eyedrops

sunset drips
marker smudges

here is where I bought her
peanut butter cups
the day that I lifted
the movie seat cup holder
and we let our knees
fall into denim licorice patterns

sunset drips
marker smudges
onto the cheek
of the man in the thick-rimmed glasses

and I want to pull over
and pass him a receipt
with this line on the back:

“Well, let it pass.
April is over.
There are all kinds of love in the world,
but never the same love twice.”

Leave a Reply

